UHECR 2014 October 12-15, Springdale Utah

2014 Conference on Ultrahigh Energy Cosmic Rays

October 12, 13, 14, 15

Canyon Community Center
126 Lion Boulevard; Springdale, UT
Springdale Community Center

Submitting to Proceedings

For participants in the conference to submit their presentations to the proceedings, please use the proceedings submission web page:


Please register yourself first, then submit/upload a pdf copy of your contribution using the same web. For submission, type "-" for the program number, enter "Short Summary to the Editor" and "(un-)Suggested Referees" when necessary.

After your manuscript is reviewed and accepted, you will be requested to submit .tex and .eps files in .zip format.

A LaTeX template (~0.8MB) can be downloaded here. The page limit is 8 pages for the contribution and 12 pages for the working group report.

The deadline of the submission is Feb. 16th(Mon), 2015.


This conference will concentrate on the physics of ultrahigh energy cosmic rays, and is the third in a series that began in Nagoya (2010) and continued at CERN (2012). UHECR 2014 will follow a similar plan as previous conferences in the series, to have plenary talks, with a few poster talks. One addition to the list of topics will be sessions on cosmic ray physics at lower energies: from 1 PeV to 1 EeV.

UHECR 2014 will be held in Springdale, Utah, USA, which is a beautiful town located right at the entrance to Zion National Park in southern Utah. Registration will occur on the afternoon of Sunday, October 12, 2014, and the three days of sessions will be Monday-Wednesday, October 13-15. Due to its location, Springdale has many hotels and restaurants. Participants will be expected to make their own hotel reservations. The weather in October is beautiful, with high temperatures averaging 78°F (26°C) and low temperatures averaging 49°F (9°C). Only 1.3 inches of rain fall in an average October.

Springdale is one hour's drive from the airport at St. George, Utah, which has regularly scheduled airline service by Delta and United Airlines.

International Advisory Committee

  • M. Fukushima, ICRR - University of Tokyo (chair)
  • V. Berezinsky, INFN - National Gran Sasso Laboratory
  • J. Bluemer, University of Karlsruhe
  • H.S. Chen, Institute of High Energy Physics, Beijing
  • T. Ebisuzaki, RIKEN Advanced Science Institute
  • R. Engel, University of Karlsruhe
  • F. Halzen, University of Wisconsin
  • Y. Itow, Nagoya University
  • A. Olinto, University of Chicago
  • K.-H. Kampert, Bergische Universität Wuppertal
  • A. Letessier-Selvon, LPNHE, Universit´es Paris 6 et Paris 7
  • P. Lipari, Università di Roma
  • K. Makishima, University of Tokyo
  • M. Panasyuk, Moscow State University
  • I. Park, Sungkyunkwan University
  • P. Picozza, University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
  • P. Privitera, University of Chicago
  • K. Sato, University of Tokyo
  • P. Sokolsky, University of Utah
  • T. Suomijärvi,Université Paris-Sud
  • F. Takahara, Osaka University
  • G. Thomson, University of Utah

Local Organising Committee

G. Thomson, University of Utah (chair)
J. Adams, University of Alabama - Huntsville
J. Belz, University of Utah
D. Bergman, University of Utah
R. Cady, University of Utah
C. Jui, University of Utah
J. Matthews, Louisiana State University
J.A.J. Matthews, University of New Mexico
J.N. Matthews, University of Utah
A. Olinto, University of Chicago
P. Privitera, University of Chicago
H. Sagawa, ICRR-University of Tokyo
P. Sokolsky, University of Utah
G. Sullivan, University of Maryland
P. Tinyakov, Université libre de Bruxelles